ODST Musings

OXM released 17 new screenshots the other day, you can view the screens here, how helpful am I!

Rampage

This image intrests me as the Rampage medal is now awarded for 40 kills rather than 20. Makes perfect sense when you think about the sheer amount of enemies coming your way. A rampage should be somewhat akin to getting a killing frenzy in multiplayer. I wonder what other medals they have included or tweaked. You can see from the screen that killing spree is gone as it shows the frenzy and the rampage.

Then there is the two unknown medals, or are they only unknown to me? I wonder what the pink and grey medal is for. My first thought was needler but then I remembered that ODST’s cant carry covenant weapons. And then there is the orange and green medal which could be something to do with the fuel rod gun? Im basing this theory purely on matching colours so dont be quoting me here. I put alot of work into these theories…

medals

The images down the right seem to represent the different skulls in play. The circle around them might be showing the time they have left in play. Im loving the idea of the skulls, should keep the play really fresh. I was recently chatting to a friend of mine about medals and voiceover appearing on firefight. No one can deny the great feeling when you hear the guy (what else do i call him) shout out “double kill” “triple kill” and such. imagine this in horde, its going to make it so fun if its added. It looks like they have tweaked the medals as there seems to be a stick medal and an unkown appearing in the middle of the screen next to the kill. Nice to see they have kept the look of the Halo MP/metagame
campaign.

If you have any alternate thoughts on the screens or musings about the game then please comment and I’ll include them in the post. I noticed the ODST carrying the turret so dont post that!

UPDATE

The pink medal is needler kill, ODST’s can use covenant weapons.  I read “ODST’s cannot used covenant equipment” and presumed that meant weapons, my bad.  Means I can noob it up on the needler again.

The skulls are not timed, the circles are purely for the look, and they look fine!

Keep an eye on the comments below for more people proving me wrong.

4 thoughts on “ODST Musings

  1. Ok, the pink and grey one, yes it’s for the Needler. ODSTs CAN pick up covenant weapons in Firefight. I got a lot of those (needler whore right here) during my time on the game. I didn’t use the fuel rod gun, but you could be right on the other one.

    In terms of the skulls, no it’s not a timer, it’s just the decal. The skulls are great, they add a lot to the game. We played with two on for all the games, one made the covenant throw more grenades and the other made them jump out of the way of bullets and grenades more often than normal.

  2. Thats just the info I was looking for mr strybe! Good to hear you can have needlers, I read that you could not use covenant weapons? Strange, I could swear it was from a good source as well.

  3. The pink and grey one is for needler kills, the ODST can wield covenant weaponry, they just can’t use their equipment. There’s also medals for assists, so team work is rewarded further 😀
    Not sure what the orange one is, but we were limited to 10 minute demo sessions, as you can see from the pic above they were playing for 42 minutes and only got 1 of them!
    I guess all will be revealed soon…

Leave a Reply

