Eclecticism – Music an’ that…

HF

I find myself arriving home from the pub, bottle of Beck’s in hand, staring at the empty WordPress document thinking “What to write?”. As I scanned my hardrive for inspiring music an interesting thought occurred – what if I shrink the folder down to only show five artists, and slide the slider thingy around and stop it randomly, giving me 5 bands to choose from. What sort of selection would I get?

To be fair to my girlfriend I also did the same to her music, most of which I am a fan of too , so what you see below is an hours worth (roughly) of musical exploration.

Static X – Cold
Curtis Mayfield – Move On Up
John Lee Hooker – Sugar Mama
Missy Higgins – Falling
Buffalo Killers – San Martine Des Morelle
Beth Orton – Sweetest Decline
The Vanishing – Still Life’s Are Falling
The Slits – Typical Girls
CKY – Escape From Hellview
Po’ Girl – Malaise Days
The Raconteurs – Carolina Drama
Tori Amos – She’s Your Cocaine
Aqualung – My God
Cat Power – Werewolves
Porcupine Tree – Sleep Of No Dreaming
The Clash – Julie’s In The Drug Squad
Crystal Castles – Alice Practice
Killing Joke – Eighties
The Eighties Matchbox B-Line Disaster – In The Garden
Flyleaf – Fully Alive (Acoustic)

So, what do you think? I’m in no way trying to show off or anything, I just love to share and hear peoples different music tastes.

What I love about music is no matter when you listen to it, no matter what mood you are in, it will always transport you back to a memorable time, albeit good or bad. Most of tracks that I ‘randomly’ selected remind of a specific occasion/time – Static X reminds me of high school, The Vanishing and Killing Joke remind of me of times spent with Matt, Cat Power takes me back to college, specifically me and Callum pooling our collective musical knowledge. What’s even better is the fact that the same track can mean so many different things to different people.

Music has that power to either cheer you up or completely destroy you. Something that other mediums tap into but in nowhere near the same extent.

I could have listed hundreds of artists that have moved me through my 24 meagre years on this planet, and who knows, I still have 348 days to fill so you might be hearing more soon.

3 thoughts on “Eclecticism – Music an’ that…

  1. Definitely a different style of music overall to what I listen to, but I think I must have bands/artists of each genre in my playlist so I can’t really complain. Of that list I believe I only have Tori Amos.

    I do definitely agree that music transports you, it’s weird listening to tracks from years gone and you remember the most minute of memories, whether it’s a scene from a movie or TV show, perhaps even the day a game came out or when you first made out with a girl, the things you wouldn’t normally think of, yet the minute the song starts playing you’re back to that moment in time in vivid technocolour.

  2. A lot of my favourite albums have been ruined by girls. Whenever I hear them, I think about relationships that went pear-shaped, because the album in question was on rotation on my iPod during that time. Bloody girls.

  3. @AK Bloody girls, I know the feeling, the missus won’t let me listen to Smashing Pumpkins as they remind her of an unsavoury relationship. I’m a little lucky when it comes to music, a lot of albums remind me of bad times, but few bad enough to make me stop listening.

    @Nokkon That’s why music is great, especially after a few beers, it’s like your own private ‘This Is Your Life’ album. As for genres, I listen to them all, seriously, all of them. Love it.

Leave a Reply

