Double Dose Of Crazy

Today I played the demo of Serious Sam HD and finally got around to playing the Bayonetta demo – both of which are bat-shit crazy. Really, really crazy.

But in a good way. I think.

I had heard people talk about Serious Sam but I’ve never sat down and played it, not sure if this was a good thing as my head was literally fucked. I’ve never played a game like this, except maybe Loaded on the PS1. Like Loaded, it has that “What the fuck is going on?” feeling coupled with an insane amount of enemies all firing at you from every angle possible.

loaded

But what Sam does, and does bloody well, is scare the living shit out of you. This game scared me. Not in a creepy Silent Hill way but in a jumping-out-on-you-as-you-leave-the-bathroom kind of way (bathroom, because that was one of the scariest frights I’ve ever been given – more on that tomorrow). It does this by throwing waves of bizarre enemies at you – without giving you a second to take in your surroundings – BAM! Giant bull charging at you. Headless screaming freaks with landmines for hands. Weird little monsters with giant faces as their body. See? I can’t even describe it well because I’m still digesting it.

I actually had to put the pad down and take a rest from the action as my eyes felt like they were going to pop out of my head. Very few games give me that feeling and it’s a feeling that I love.

Instead of taking it easy for the afternoon I decided to play the Bayonetta demo. It was…interesting. I played it right through and even now, 5 maybe 6 hours later, I have no idea what was going on. I know I enjoyed it, but I have no idea what I did. I just hammered buttons and marvelled at the carnage around me. It was beautiful, but I felt it lacked control. Something I’ve felt about all these Devil May Cry-esque games (what’s the genre?). Maybe I just suck at them, who knows? But I have never been able to sit and enjoy them, I have tried 2 or 3 of the DMC games but give up fairly quickly. I did finish Onimusha 3: Demon Siege on the PS2 and really enjoyed it, but is that the same as DMC?

onimusha
Check out Jean Reno, how cool is that?

Anyway, I’m rambling now, the gist of the post was to say that I was impressed by both titles. Sam, I will be playing and hopefully reviewing very soon. Bayonetta on the other hand, I will pick up in the sales – great fun, lots of style, but will I love it?

P.S. Thanks to Twitter peeps for all the help and advice when I was racking my brain for the name of the “ridiculously hectic and one of the characters was a big baby/pink bunny ears?” game. Your patience is amazing 😉

Leave a Reply

